Governors Papers, Modern

About this collection

This collection contains modern governors papers from the State of Archives of North Carolina. Currently the online collection includes the administrations of:

  • Gov. James B. Hunt, Jr.: executive orders
  • Gov. James G. Martin: executive orders
  • Gov. Mike Easley: including press releases, executive orders, and proclamations
  • Gov. Bev Perdue: including press releases, executive orders, and proclamations
  • Gov. Pat McCrory: executive orders and proclamations

The online collection contains only a small percentage of the total governors papers in the holdings of the State Archives, which include papers from Richard Caswell (1776 - 1780) through Pat McCrory (2012 - 2016). The State Archives also has the records of Colonial Governors, including Arthur Dobbs, Charles Eden, Gabriel Johnston, James Hasell, John Archdale, Josiah Martin, Nathaniel Rice, Robert Daniel, and William Tryon. In addition, the State Archives houses Governors' Letter Books, 1764-1916.

For more information about the governors papers, consult the Archives online catalog MARS at

For biographies of North Carolina governors and colonial governors, consult NCPedia at

To learn more about the process of collecting the records of the Perdue and Easley administrations, see the Dept. of Cultural Resources blog post on the topic.

For finding aids for many governors’ papers collections, see the Guides to the Governors Papers on the State Archives website.

A set of images of North Carolina governors is available on the State Archives Flickr account.